The Screwtape Letters by C.S Lewis

FINAL RATING: «««««

SHORT REVIEW!

Screwtape baby, where have you been all my life?

This is yet ANOTHER book I finished in such a short period of time this month (half a day, actually), which I was NOT expecting, for I am definitely not a fan of epistolary novels…at all. In fact, I kinda hate them.

However, this book may have opened my mind up a bit to that format. I feel that C.S Lewis struck this one chord on the harp, and it just kept making the same beautiful sound as I finished each chapter (or letter). I loved the satire on the human race and the demon’s perspective on it. Instead of just being a red-skinned moron who just uses curse words and blames God for his fall, instead Screwtape is portrayed as an intelligent, well-read mastermind of a spirit that probably knows more about human behavior than most of us do (since we’re too busy jabbering instead of listening and looking around).

I’ve been on a C.S. Lewis binge lately, and ever since I picked up and read almost every book in the Narnia series (just gotta finish The Voyage of the Dawn Treader), I wanted to read his other works. The one everybody talks about is “The Screwtape Letters.” I was so pleasantly surprised by it that I’m going to read everything else he’s written (Mere Christianity, the Great Divorce, etc).

There’s this really awesome quote from this book that I was truly not expecting. Let me quote Letter no. 20 from Screwtape, himself when he’s referring to women in advertising and modern art:

“It is all fake, of course; the figures in the popular art are falsely drawn; the real women in bathing suits or tights are actually pinched in and propped up to make them appear former and more slender and more boyish than nature allows full-grown woman to be. Yet at the same time, the modern world is taught to believe is that being “frank” and “healthy” are getting back to nature. As a result we are more are more directing the desires of men to something which does not exist–making the role of the eye in sexuality more and more important and at the same time making its demands more and more impossible. What follows you can easily forecast!”

We should definitely get some literary demons into the feminist movement pretty soon.

There are many more amazing quotes from this book, but this one is probably my favorite; and if you want to read the others read the damned (no pun intended) book already and stop reading this review!

Go on, do it! I’m watching…

Leave a Reply

